Dumbledore the Wise (Again)

“‘You do not seek to kill me, Dumbledore?,’ called Voldemort, his scarlet eyes narrowed over the top of the shield. ‘Above such brutality are you?’

‘We both know that there are other ways of destroying a man, Tom,’ said Dumbledore calmly’……

 

”Harry, I owe you an explanation,’ said Dumbledore. ‘An explanation of an old man’s mistakes. For I see now that what I have done, and not done, with regard to you, bears all the hallmarks of the failings of age. Youth cannot know how age thinks and feels. But old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young…and I seem to have forgotten lately….’

 

‘I cared about you too much,’ said Dumbledore simply. ‘I cared more for your happiness than your knowing the truth, more for your peace of mind than my plan, more for your life than the lives that might be lost if the plan failed. In other words, I acted exactly as Voldemort expects we fools who love to act.’

 

J.K. Rowling  “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

